Hachi: A Dog’s Tale, How I Impressed Jenny with My Baseball Knowledge

A nice long holiday weekend is coming to a close and I wanted to get out at least one more post here before getting back to the daily grind of complaining to Jenny about work.

Jenny and I watched three movies this weekend with the last coming on my Saturday night, the traditional Bee Movie Night. We watched Hachi: A Dog’s Tale starring Richard Gere and three different dogs playing the same role. Basically, the dogs are the Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of the animal kingdom.

Chocolat was actually another movie Jenny and I watched together. It's also a food we cannot stop eating.
Chocolat was actually another movie Jenny and I watched together. It’s also a food we cannot stop eating.

The movie was a sad one in many regards even if I made more than enough gerbil jokes at Gere’s expense. If you’ve ever lost a dog or someone close to you, surely you’d get a little choked up watching this movie. Even more, as we knew the long weekend we spent together was coming to an end, Jenny and I felt the sadness because we care for each other so deeply and imagined a scenario where one of us was to die. Most movies about animals are like this and really tug on the heart strings. All it needed was Sarah McLaughlin and a phone number to donate.

We were hoping for a sillier movie, but instead were left a little upset and not just by the bad Indian accent one of the actors displayed. Movies like this, especially when Jenny and I are feeling particularly close, usually do get us a little emotional. It also doesn’t help that I’m apparently secretly a woman because I felt it too although I didn’t cry.

In the movie was one scene worth mentioning as it allows me to brag about my baseball knowledge. Gere’s character, Parker, sits down on the couch and turns on the television. A baseball game comes on and it’s the New York Yankees against the Atlanta Braves. I was able to tell it was from the 1990s from Joe Buck’s voice and the footage. I’m also pretty sure I recognized Marquis Grissom striking out. Knowing these two teams played in the 1996 and 1999 World Series, I concluded the film was taking place in October of one of those years. Jenny didn’t really get how much of an educated guess I had made, but was later impressed when we saw a year on come up on the screen identifying that the current events were in 1998. Therefore, Hachi a Dog’s Tale begins in 1996.

As far as the movie goes, it was what you’d expect. It came out in 2009 and features some recognizable faces like Jason Alexander, Joan Allen, and whoever the actor is that does the bad Indian accent. The actor was also in Stargate and The Mummy. It’s too late to look up the name and you probably wouldn’t recognize it anyway.

Leave a Reply

